A Global Talent Search

Global Talent Search Entry

Part of taking Lilla Roger’s class was automatic enrollment in a Global Talent Search. The winner will score a slew of licensing deals (a home decor line, a fabric line, a scrapbooking license to name a few), PLUS two years of representation by Lilla Rogers Studio.

Global Talent Search

Wow.

It would be unbelievable to win.

There are three rounds to the competition. The first assignment was to create a 5″x7″ journal cover with a vintage playground theme that  somehow included the word “Journal”.

The image above is what I came up with.

Entries were due this week, and 50 semi-finalists will be chosen by Lilla Rogers and her team by August 1. At that point, the talented 50 move forward in the competition with another assignment. Their work will be posted in an online gallery and presented to an esteemed panel of judges from companies such as Anthropologie, Chronicle Books, Paperchase, Real Simple Magazine, Demdaco, Oopsy Daisy, and more. From there, the list will be whittled down to six finalists who will advance with another assignment. Lilla herself will choose the final winner.

It’s a long shot.

I have seen some of the entries–the level of talent involved is amazing. Humbling. And that’s just from my fellow classmates. The competition was open to the public–there are probably thousands who entered.

I do know this though:

I definitely won’t win if I don’t put myself out there and try.

So stay tuned. I would be absolutely over the moon just to make the top 50 and get my name and my work in front of that impressive list of judges.

In other news, I’m hard at work at a new line for Oopsy Daisy. And…I am having a gallery show in downtown Denver this fall. Yahoo!! Details to come.

 

4 thoughts on “A Global Talent Search

  1. Pingback: I’m a Semi-Finalist! | Kelly Angelovic

  2. Pingback: The End of Bootcamp | Kelly Angelovic

Leave a comment