The End of Bootcamp

FizzyDrink

There is a wall in my entryway that has been empty since we moved in four years ago. It has always needed something, but until now, I hadn’t figured out what.

July was the final month for Lilla Rogers Assignment Bootcamp. The assigned theme was favorite beverages, and we were told to create a piece of art that we would hang on our own walls.

Create for the sake of creating (without thinking about commercial appeal).

I started drawing coffee cups and wine glasses. Wine bottles and tea cups.

As so often happens in the midst of a project, I got stuck. Nothing felt right. I backed off. I shifted my perspective–and tried to think about the kind of art I’m drawn to.

Working with the intention to create something for that empty space in my entryway, everything began to flow.

The image below was my final Bootcamp submission. The image above ended up being my favorite of the three that I created (it wasn’t finished by the submission deadline).

FlowerDrinkWarmDrink

This isn’t my space (my empty wall is quite a bit smaller, and I haven’t hung them up yet), but this is how they would look, at full size (24″ x 30″) hanging on a wall together.

Drink Wall Art Mock-up

Bootcamp started in February and it has been so much fun, especially with a new baby in the house (I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again–maintaining my creative outlet and keeping one foot in the working world makes me a better mama). Since I first took Make Art That Sells, Part A last June, I have evolved and learned so much.

If you are thinking about signing up for one of Lilla’s classes, don’t hesitate!! Though I would recommend taking the full blown MATS classes first (Bootcamp is like an extension, a way to maintain your momentum–it’s not nearly as intense, but not as juicy and full of information either).

Either way, do it!! You won’t be disappointed.

AND I have several licensing deals in the works (hopefully, fingers crossed!!) that have come from my MATS projects. I can’t spill the beans yet, but there are a lot of exciting things happening behind the scenes right now.

My other Bootcamp pieces:

Jello themed fabric pattern for the bolt fabric market

TimeForTea_KellyAngelovic

 

Cuckoo clock themed cell phone case

Cuckoo Cell Phone Case

 

Editorial illustration for an article about meditation

How to Meditate

 

Wall art with a nautical theme

Under the Sea

So….what’s next?

Lilla Rogers Global Talent Search

Lilla’s Global Talent Search!!

I entered last year on a whim and I made it to the semi-finals (which I still can’t believe)! After going back and forth (and back and forth) about entering again, I decided to throw my hat in the ring. I have nothing to lose, and if I win (oh my goodness, can you imagine?? I wouldn’t be able to scrape myself off the floor!!!), I would be represented by the fabulous Lilla Rogers Studio for two years, in addition to scoring an exciting list of licensing deals and other once-in-a-lifetime opportunities.

The excitement starts on August 5th, and the deadline for the first round is August 18th. So stayed tuned and wish me luck!

***

And finally, July is almost over! For the remainder of the month, 10% of what I sell will go to The Art Students League of Denver, a local organization that focuses on providing opportunities for artists of all ages and abilities to study and work with regionally and nationally recognized working artists. From their website:

“ASLD is an inclusive and inspiring art community where members of all abilities are guided by professional artists to reach their highest potential.”

 

 

3 thoughts on “The End of Bootcamp

Leave a Reply

