The Sale was a Bust

Art for Sale

Holiday Pop Up Art Market

Last week, I was part of a festive, pop-up holiday art market downtown.

Denver was dressed to the nines in her holiday finery, ready to serve up eggnog and candy canes. The carolers were singing. The holiday lights were glittering in the night air.

The sale was a bust.

We had great traffic before the performances got under way (the gallery/coffee shop is located within the Denver Performing Arts Complex).

And then…nothing.

I met some lovely people–very talented artists doing a range of different things (a metal sculptor, a glass artisan, a woman who makes full sized, knitted dragons and travels around the country doing shows with Vogue (!), among other things). I had a glass of wine, and watched the people rushing to and fro.

And I sold two prints…to a fellow artist.

Downtown was packed. Parking was a bear. And I think that was part of the problem. There was too much going on downtown.

The Parade of Lights was happening, and it was also First Friday. A couple of friends made it out to support us (my talented mom and I), and they spent over an hour trying to get to the gallery. They live 10-15 minutes away.

I have done two sales this holiday season, the first was far more successful than last weekend–and I’ve learned a lot. I enjoyed getting ready, packaging up my prints and figuring out how to display everything. I enjoyed the pre-sale jitters–that excitement that bubbles up from a place deep down when you see your work, your heart, all on display…and you wonder if anyone will want what you make.

And now I have an inventory surplus of unframed/framed art prints. So get in touch if you’re in the market for some whimsical wall art (Kelly@KellyAngelovic.com)!

Onward.

Leave a Reply

