Grow

Don't be afraid to stand in your own power and blossom

This past Tuesday, the semi-finalists in Lilla Rogers Global Talent Search were announced.

My piece didn’t make the cut.

The assignment was to create a piece of wall art with a ‘Little Terrariums’ theme. And I was thrilled with what I came up with–I had so much fun!! Even though I didn’t make it through, what I created was 100% me and I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out.

That’s not to say I’m not a little disappointed. Last year (to my amazement–I entered on a whim), I made it through to the next round. This was my submission (the assignment was to create a journal cover with a ‘Playground’ theme).

Let's Play

So I knew it was possible…

There were 999 entries this year. You can see the list of semi-finalists here. And this year, they published everyone’s submissions–so you can peruse the entire gallery if you are so inclined. It’s an impressive collection, and I have no idea how Lilla and her team narrowed the field to the top 50 (what I would’ve given to have been a fly on the wall for those conversations).

Through Lilla’s MATS classes, I know a lot of the artists who made it through. And I am genuinely excited for them. I can’t wait to see what they create for the next round.

There were a lot of entries that I loved–pieces that would have made my top 50–that didn’t make the cut though.

That’s maybe the best and the worst of what I do, that art is inherently subjective.

In all honesty, I did host my own private pity party for a good part of the morning on Tuesday when the list of semi-finalists was announced. And then I got on my road bike and went for ride up a really big, steep hill. As always, this helped, immensely.

And then I picked myself up and dusted myself off. And I’m getting right back in that saddle. Giddyup.

***

And don’t forget, this is the last week in August–for the rest of the month, 10% of what I sell will go to DAVA, a local organization that “… provides high-quality, after-school programming in the Aurora community and has become an anchor of free arts education for 900 urban kids (ages 3-17) annually. DAVA programs are designed to provide young people with the tools necessary to activate a new vision for community through the arts.”

 

2 thoughts on “Grow

  1. Kelly I love your Terrarium… Maybe it didn’t make the cut because it wasn’t a traditional terrarium with the glass, but irregardless it’s a really terrific piece.

    • Thank you so much for your encouraging words Kathy! I was a little disappointed not to make it to the next round, but I was really happy with my entry nonetheless. And who knows what exciting things are up around the bend! Thanks again for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

