Big Week: I Need Your Support!!

WorkLifeAngelovic_FinalIllustration_HI

My head is spinning right now. I don’t really even know where to start…

In what is unquestionably (and by complete coincidence) the biggest week of my artistic career to date, the following three events are all happening over the next several days:

1. Lilla Rogers’ Global Talent Search.

Global Talent Search

Tomorrow (September 3) through September 9, the public website goes live with a gallery of artwork submitted by all 50 semi-finalists. An esteemed judging panel will select 5 finalists to move on.

AND… one lucky additional artist will be chosen by a public vote. I need your support and YOUR VOTE!!!! So stay tuned…I will send out the link as soon as I can.

2. The Work/Life 3 Directory of Illustration (compiled and produced by Uppercase).

Work Life 3 Cover

Check out the cool cover artwork, done by the talented Jeff Rogers.

***

I was selected as one of 100 illustrators from around the world to be featured in this esteemed publication, which includes work from an incredible line-up including (but certainly not limited to) Dinara Mirtalipova, Helen Dardik, Susy Pilgrim Waters, and so many more.

The book is finished and shipping now!! For a sneak peak, check out the book trailer here.

The assignment was to illustrate the following (my response to an interview question about why I chose this particular career path),

“I get this buzz…an electric current of excitement that lights me up from head to toe. I am an illustrator because it makes my soul sparkle.”

You can see my soul sparkling at the top of the page. The book will be sent out to an impressive list of 1000 art directors and advertisers. You can purchase your copy here.

3. I’m having an art show! September 3-October 26, 2013

This afternoon, I’m doing the install for my first art show! Entitled Re-Imagine Nation, and featuring (from the press release) “… delightfully rendered illustrative artworks by Benjamin Wright Coleman, Kelly Angelovic, Mike Geiger and John D. Schultz, poetry recited by Hannah Haddadi and Haven Grey, and live music performed by Josh Meyers, Re-Imagine Nation melds the kindred spirits of visual art, music and the written word.”

The Opening Reception is this Friday, September 6th from 7:30 – 11:00 pm in the Art Gallery at the Denver Performing Arts Complex. Please come out to support me! I’d love to see you.

Re-Imagine Nation

Holy Moly!! I think that covers it for this week. I keep having to remind myself to stop and soak up this whirlwind of excitement because the truth is that it all feels incredibly surreal. Like I am on the sidelines watching someone else. Gratitude and awe don’t even begin to cover how I’m feeling as I try to wrap my head around all of this.

Wishing all of my fellow semi-finalists (who are surely on pins and needles like me) the very best of luck. Here we go!

5 thoughts on “Big Week: I Need Your Support!!

  1. Pingback: Drying Out | Kelly Angelovic

Leave a Reply

