Dropping into the Stillness

Becoming a Successful Illustrator

The above illustration, a book jacket cover, was created by one of my favorite illustrator/designers. Steve Simpson is a prolific artist based in Ireland. You can see more of his work here and here. Enjoy!

***

For the past year and a half or so, I have been working with my nose to the grindstone. Focused. Driven. Parenthood has made me incredibly efficient with the time I have carved out for myself.

Working 20-25 hours per week, I have been (easily) accomplishing the same amount that I was working 40+ hours before I became a mom.

I’ve been making it happen.

Over the last few weeks though, my intensity has waned. My productivity has dropped. I have taken a (small) step back.

And it’s okay.

With all things in life, there is a cycle. An ebb and flow. Go go go. Go big! And then, rest…

Drop into the stillness. Ponder. Breathe. Contemplate.

Re-Engergize.

With heaps of compassion, I am sitting, quietly. Softening. Inhaling. Exhaling. Slowly.

Staying present and recognizing my own need to decelerate, I will be stronger and more engaged–more vibrant–when I dive back in.

One thought on “Dropping into the Stillness

Leave a Reply

