We Are All Connected

Be Merry and Bright

I have been doling out unexpected cheer (which I posted about here and here) and it feels really good. Mostly.

#2 This week, I paid for the girl standing in line ahead of me at one of the coffee shops I frequent. She turned to me, brow furrowed, and asked why? I told her it was a holiday gesture of generosity and nothing more. A smile spread across her face as she thanked me and we parted ways. Later that morning she approached me again, thanked me and told me that she intended to pay it forward.

Awesome.

#3 I also bought a handful of Powerball tickets. Hitting the jackpot would have meant a windfall of $50 million.

I gave one ticket away to the barista at another coffee shop. And one to the person sitting next to me at this same cafe. Both women smiled, expressed their gratitude and went on with their work.

The remaining tickets were designated for family members. Without getting into the sticky details, winning would have made all the difference. The drawing was on 12/12/12. Despite its auspicious leanings, no such luck this time around.

This exercise in philanthropy really does light me up, but it has incited some unexpected emotions as well. Choosing the what and the who has jostled me outside of my comfort zone. The easier path is to keep my head down and mind my own business.

I am surprised and humbled by this reaction.

Kindness and giving shouldn’t be the exception. I hope this experience helps me recalibrate.

All things are connected
like the blood that unites us.
We did not weave the web of life,
We are merely a strand in it.
Whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves.

– Chief Seattle

Leave a Reply

